Homenewsabout usContact UsWebsite

Winners announced for the top empowerment awards

On Friday, 26th April, the Oliver Transformation and Empowerment Awards announced their 2013 winners. The black-tie event at the Sandton Convention Centre was attended by the who's who of South Africa's private and public sectors including Xolani Qubeke, Chief Executive Officer of the Black Business Council and Advocate Thuli Madonsela, the Public Protector, who were the keynote speakers.
Dr Mamphela Ramphele received the Legend of Empowerment Lifetime Achievement Award at the Oliver Empowerment Awards gala event
Dr Mamphela Ramphele received the Legend of Empowerment Lifetime Achievement Award at the Oliver Empowerment Awards gala event
Over the past eleven years the Oliver Empowerment and Transformation Awards has celebrated South Africa's black economic empowerment champions. Recognised as the country's most influential empowerment awards ceremony, The Oliver Awards celebrate companies and individuals in the public and private sectors that are excelling in job creation, entrepreneurship and enterprise development.

The 10 winners of 12th Annual Oliver Empowerment Awards are:
  1. Africa's Transformation Award sponsored by G4S: PricewaterhouseCoopers
  2. The Skills Development Award sponsored by Transnet Foundation: Volkswagen Group South Africa (Pty) Ltd
  3. The SME Award sponsored by Rena Business Solutions: Indigo Kulani Group (Pty) Ltd
  4. The Socially Responsible Investment Award: Netcare Limited
  5. The Supplier Development Award: Woolworths Holdings Limited
  6. The Entrepreneur Award: Allon Raiz from Raizcorp Enterprise Development
  7. The Female Business Personality Award: Nosizwe Nokwe-Macamo from Petro SA
  8. The Male Business Personality Award: Mteto Nyati from Microsoft SA (Pty) Ltd
  9. The Public Sector Executive Award: Linda Makuleni from South African Weather Service
  10. The Young Achiever Award: Kate Moodley from Discovery Consulting Services
The Oliver Awards also announced a new award - the Legend of Empowerment - Lifetime Achievement Award. This year the Legend of Empowerment awards went to 10 high profile South Africans, prominent in business and politics. These were Dr Mathews Phosa, Commander Tsietsi Mokhele, Dr Mamphela Ramphele, Tokyo Sexwale, Dr Rob Davies, Adv Thuli Madonsela, Cyril Ramaphosa, Patrice Motsepe, Dr Reuel Jethro Khoza and Maria Ramos.

"I would like to thank Topco Media for honouring me with the Lifetime Achievement Award. I am humbled by this recognition. We have come so far as a country and I want to commend Topco Media for recognising the efforts made by so many and simultaneously motivating others to take up their responsibility towards empowering South Africa," said Dr Matthews Phosa.

"The high level of attendance and support at this year's awards indicates that empowerment and transformation go beyond the scorecard. The success stories of winners and legends have a far reaching impact on sustainability in this country and give the next generation of leaders a sense of hope. We look forward to seeing more nominations with innovative, compassionate and successful stories that lead us into 20 years of democracy and transformation in 2014," said Karla Fletcher, Events Director of Topco Media.

Entering and attending the Oliver Empowerment and Transformation Awards provides finalists and winners with a stepladder to top-level business networking and potential growth. The Oliver Awards aim to be a platform for business leaders in empowerment, transformation and the economic development sector to access information and connections they would not be normally privy to. Past winners have been established as transformational leaders in South Africa and gained international recognition.

For more information on The Oliver Awards go to, follow them on Twitter @Oliver_Awards and on Facebook.

2 May 2013 13:54