Homenewsabout usContact UsWebsite

Winners of the 2012 African Access National Business Awards announced

The winners of South Africa's business 'Oscars' were announced on the evening of 17 July 2012 at a spectacular awards gala at the Sandton Convention Centre. Over 400 of South Africa's leaders in business and government joined to celebrate the country's top performing individuals and companies at the 10th Annual National Business Awards.
The finalists for the 2012 Awards represent a stellar short list of South Africa's best performing companies and individuals. One of the big winners of the night was Kumba Iron Ore who won the Investing in People and Employer of the Year Awards, and Kumba's CEO Chris Griffith walked away with the Top Performing Businessman of the Year Award.

On selecting him as the Businessman of the Year, the judges noted that "part of Chris' winning formula is that he is a people person - known for his common touch. He can relate to both the miner at the rock face and the executive in the boardroom. Under his stewardship Kumba Iron Ore is not only delivering an excellent financial performance it is also meeting and exceeding its transformational responsibilities."

Another big winner on the night was Trevor Manuel - Minister in the Presidency for National Planning Commission. He scooped the Lifetime Achievement Award. This award was run as a public vote competition on SAfm radio. Through the competition listeners were asked to vote for the business leader they thought should win an award that recognises their body of work over a lifetime. Mr Manuel was the outright winner.

The winners in the various categories are:

Investing in People Award
Kumba Iron Ore

Alt-X Award
Calgro M3 Holdings

Logistics Award (Sponsored by Kintetsu World Express)
Imperial Logistics

Innovation through Technology Award
Aegis Media SSA

Customer Focus Award (Sponsored by Berco)
Microsoft SA

Marketing Excellence Award (Sponsored by
Kraft Foods South Africa

Fast Growth SMME Award

Diversity in the Workplace Award (Sponsored by NBC Holdings)
D•A•V Professional Placement Group

ESG Award (Sponsored by Department of Environmental Affairs)
Procter & Gamble South Africa

Employer of the Year (Sponsored by African Access Holdings)
Kumba Iron Ore

Small/Medium Internet Business of the Year

Business Education & Training Award
MultiChoice South Africa

Recognition of Social Responsibilities
Renault South Africa

Stokvel Award (Sponsored by Postbank)
Bambanani Club and Siyazama Club

Top Performing Businessman of the Year Award (Sponsored by African Access Holdings)
Kumba Iron Ore - Chris Griffith

Top Performing Businesswoman of the Year Award (Sponsored by African Access Holdings)
Aegis Media SSA - Dawn Rowlands (CEO)

Top Performing Entrepreneur of 2012 Award (Sponsored by ACSA)
Spark ATM Systems - Marc Sternberg

Lifetime Achievement Award
Trevor Manuel - Minister in the Presidency for National Planning Commission

Top Performing Parastatal of the Year Award
Automotive Industry Development Centre (AIDC)

The event was hosted by Leanne Manas and Vuyo Mbuli from Morning Live and attendees were entertained by Rike and Kristel - a saxophone and violin duo - and Sticky Triggers.

For more information on the Awards or the winners, please visit or contact Carla Fourie on .

20 Jul 2012 10:13