Homenewsabout usContact UsWebsite

Entries open for African Access National Business Awards

Entries are invited for the 10th Annual African Access National Business Awards, also known as the "Oscars" of South African business. Each year the highly celebrated awards ceremony recognises and honour top performers in business at individual, organisational and governmental level. This year's winners will be announced at an elite gala event hosted by SABC's Morning Live Leanne Manas and Vuyo Mbuli on 17 July 2012 where over 500 of South Africa's top business and government figures will be present.
The Awards will showcase and celebrate the country's best businesses and individuals in the following categories:

Organisation Awards
  • Investing in People Award
  • Alt-X Award
  • Logistics Award (Sponsored by Kintetsu World Express)
  • Innovation through Technology Award
  • Customer Focus Award (Sponsored by Berco)
  • Marketing Excellence Award
  • Fast Growth SMME Award
  • Diversity in the Workplace Award (Sponsored by NBC)
  • ESG Award (Sponsored by Department of Environmental Affairs)
  • Employer of the Year
  • Small/Medium Internet Business of the Year
  • Healthcare Excellence Award
  • Manufacturing Excellence Award
  • Recognition of Social Responsibilities
  • Stokvel (Mahodisanas, umgalelos, amafellas, ubuntu and gooi-goois)
Individual Awards
  • Top Performing Businessman of the Year Award
  • Top Performing Businesswoman of the Year Award
  • Top Performing Entrepreneur of the Year Award (Sponsored by Airports Company South Africa)
Government Awards
  • Top Performing Parastatal of the Year Award
Headline Award
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
The entry process involves completing an entry form as well as submitting a detailed motivation. Previous Award winners have not only gained prestige and recognition from peers, but also raised their business' profile nationally.

At last year's Awards ceremony, the inaugural Stokvel Award went to Kliptown Helping Hands. Pick n Pay, one of South Africa's greenest retailers with their focus on waste management and recycling received the Environmental Social Governance (ESG) Award as well as the Innovation Through Technology Award. This year, on the Awards' tenth anniversary, the event organisers anticipate more nominations in the various categories and an event that is guaranteed to be the most spectacular ever.

Entries will close on 08 June 2012 and finalists will be announced on 20 June 2012 after internal and external judging. The year's top performers will be announced on 17 July 2012 at the star-studded Awards event at Sandton Convention Centre.

For entrants, sponsors and partners alike, the Awards provide a unique opportunity for exposure, press coverage and new business opportunities while positioning their business as a leader. To find out about sponsorship opportunities, entering or attending the Awards, visit

12 Apr 2012 14:13