Homenewsabout usContact UsWebsite

NBAs benefit SA by uniting public and private sectors

SA business and government leaders gather at the 11th annual National Business Awards
Minister of the Department of Human Settlements Connie September stressed the importance of collaboration between the public and private sectors in finding solutions to South Africa's challenges, and championed the National Business Awards (NBAs) as the perfect platform for cultivating those relationships.

Business leaders from both the public and private sectors assembled at Emperors Palace in Johannesburg for the NBAs, hosted by Topco Media, to recognise and celebrate excellence and innovation in business over the last year.

"The consensus is that business, like government, still has a bigger role to play in our country's development. As Minister of Human Settlements, I know that our department is heavily reliant on the private sector in delivering on our mandate," said Minister September in her keynote address. "I am therefore pleased that this ceremony brings together the public and private sector. It is in spaces such as these where collaborations must start that can deal with the challenges facing us as a nation."

Kumba Iron Ore were the big winners on the night, taking home both the Investing in People Award and the Corporate Citizenship Award. Minister of Finance, Minister Pravin Gordhan; Professor Tim Noakes; Sizwe Nxasana, CEO of FirstRand Limited; and Dr Richard Maponya all received Lifetime Achievement Awards.

The NBAs are more than just a pat on the back for the deserving winners. The Awards encourage business in South Africa to constantly strive for a higher standard. Through the NBAs South African organisations have been measured against international companies and more than held their own. "Over 11 years great South African companies, including Anglo American, MTN, Discovery, and SAB, have been highly competitive against iconic multinational corporations, such as Microsoft, Accenture, Coca-Cola and DHL, at the annual National Business Awards," says Ralf Fletcher, Chief Executive Officer of Topco Media.

Krijay Govender, award-winning actress, playwright and director, had the attendees in hysterics and did an outstanding job of leading the evening as the Mistress of Ceremonies. Attendees embraced the event's masquerade ball theme and arrived in exquisite gowns and tuxedos with some interesting masks.

List of winners:

Lifetime achievement Recipients
  • Minister Pravin Gordhan
  • Professor Tim Noakes
  • Sizwe Nxasana
  • Dr Richard Maponya
Company Awards
  • Customer Focus Award - Capacity Outsourcing, a division of Adcorp Fulfilment Services
  • Diversity in the Workplace Award sponsored by Airports Company South Africa - Accenture South Africa
  • ESG Award - Ellies
  • Fast Growth SMME Award sponsored by Telkom Business - Demographica
  • Innovation through Technology Award sponsored by Air Traffic and Navigation Services - Altech UEC South Africa
  • Investing in People Award sponsored by Motlekar - Kumba Iron Ore
  • Logistics Award sponsored by Kintestsu World Express South Africa - Imperial Logistics
  • Multinational Award - MSSL Global RSA Module Engineering Limited
  • Corporate Citizenship Award - Kumba Iron Ore
  • Alt-X Award sponsored by Mazars - Finbond Group Limited
  • Top Performing Parasternal or Agency of the Year sponsored by The South African Post Office - COEGA Development Corporation
  • Top Performing Government Department Award sponsored by the Department of Human Settlements - Department of Trade and Industry
Individual Awards
  • Young Executive of the Year Award (under 35 years old) sponsored by Tumi - Chrystal Poole, Haw & Inglis Civil Engineering
  • Top Performing Entrepreneur of the Year Award - Wendy Kemp, Accountability Group
  • Top Performing Businessman of the Year Award - Steven Kark, Paycorp Holdings
  • Top Performing Businesswoman of the Year Award - Lynette Magasa, Boniswa Corporate Solutions

Editorial contact
Nick Krige
Managing Editor at Topco Media
Phone: 086 000 9590

21 Nov 2013 12:53